Time to throw my hat in the ring

17 11 2008

Well once again here we are at the same old position. The auto industry problems land square on the shoulders the UAW and its contracts right. My position Fuck You! I will never apologize for making a living wage and at the same time being open to concessions as they have been introduced. What angers me the most is that the individuals that do the most talking have no clue what they are talking about

Myth number one: Autoworkers enjoy free health insurance WRONG

For the past five years our health insurance has been in a constant state of flux. I started off with a great HMO with little in the way of cost. That was great benefit especially with children. But that was yanked last contract. We have a Traditional Blue Cross plan which gives our family three office visits at twenty dollar copay’s and then all office visits and testing are pocket payed. I have always argued that I would like to keep the HMO and pay the added costs. I understand health care is not free but the bigger problems are the medical industry needs to be regulated because there incapable to regulate themselves.

Workrule Flexibility

Don’t even get me going on all the concessions we have made at the factories. Sure you get some douche bag on the news spouting off about this or that trust me for the majority of the members its not easy work. Not to mention we have been very flexible and open to changes locally and internationally. I have watched how jobs have been combined, jobs have been eliminated by automation, and good old you are just going to have to do more work. Believe me when I say the auto industry of ten years ago is not the same industry it is today.

My hope is that you read the article and take the time to do some honest research not mindless assumptions. Our pay is good yes but only accounts for 10% of the price of a new car. Trust us we want to build the more fuel efficient cars out there because we are paying the high gasoline prices too. But look in your driveway at what you where buying a few years ago. We couldn’t make enough suv’s a industry cant turn on a dime and we are beholden to the execs that make the decisions in Detroit.
The problem the industry faces now is because of greed and lack of ethics in wall street and the Banking system. Under the Bush administration this country has been destroyed. The greed in the housing market is sickening and I have seen people within my personal circle get screwed over in that greed. Come on people did you really think housing values where just going to continue to rise every year 30-40% it was a bubble. If you have any of my previous posts I saw this coming. The middle class has been decimated and there is no job growth. Yeah I’ll get some asshole talking about how wal-mart is creating jobs. Please lets get serious we need more decent paying jobs. If we don’t stop this economic explosion from getting bigger it will take out every industry in the United States that includes governments. It will start on a local level but it will curtail out of control.

Lets wake up people I love this country and can truly say I’m proud to be an American. But lets get back to basics and stop shooting ourselves in the foot.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

