RockAuto.com save me 400.00

21 07 2008

Well to set the scene we where in Chincatuege Virginia at a family campground and Kelsi wanted to ride sitting on the tailgate of our truck. I thought what the heck there would be no harm since you cant drive high speeds through the campground. So I proceeded to push the button in the blazer to open the rear hatch when I heard the dreadful noise of failure that I knew well from a few years ago when the latch had previous broken twice under warranty. Well I decided to just enjoy the rest of my vacation and deal with this later. Unfortunately I knew this would make packing the truck up for Buffalo a monumental challenge.

Well I got back to Buffalo and after constant reminder from my wife and a very difficult canoe trip having to load our truck from the side door I decide to get it fixed. Me being handy and working in the automotive field I felt a bit inclined to do some investigation into this problem. And here is when the problem starts.

So I decided to do a little research into just into how to exactly begin tear apart the tail gate of my truck. I wasn’t really sure how to separate the back window and tailgate. So I decided to do a search on Google to see what I could find in ther message boards and forums . Thankfully I found a forum by the name of blazerforum.com I can’t even begin to tell you how happy I was to know how easily I would be able to fix this problem. Turns out that most of the time a plastic linkage breaks and just needs replaced. So you would assume that all that was left to do is go to the dealership and buy the plastic piece. Wrong!!! The dealership wants you to buy the whole electrical component. So instead of selling the piece that is broken they make you replace a part that isn’t broken. Thankfully I hit the message board again and in the post they gave a link to buy the piece for a few dollars.

I wrote this piece to just to say how valuable the blogisphere was to me and how it saved me close to 400.00. Plus I really want to plug ROCKAUTO.COM for shipping the parts I needed right away and there telephone operators where extremely helpful when I decided to order another part for my truck. So if you need a part for your car or truck I highly reccomend them.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

